Access Management > Users

Enable Access Control and manage local users on the Q-SYS Core, including assigning user Access Management > Roles.

Note: Local users on the Core are not the same as Q-SYS Reflect users. To learn about Reflect users, see Reflect Users and Roles.

Enabling Access Control

CAUTION: By default, the Q-SYS Core is unprotected. For security purposes, QSC recommends that you enable Access Control, create users, and assign permissions to restrict access to the Core.

By default, Q-SYS Cores ship with Access Control disabled. To enable Access Control and create an Administrator account:

  1. Click Enable Access Control.
  2. Enter a Username and Password. Usernames must not contain spaces. Passwords must be at least 8 characters in length.
  3. Click Create.

You must now sign in with those credentials whenever viewing or modifying your Core configuration in Q-SYS Core Manager.

CAUTION: Do not lose your Administrator account credentials.

Adding Users

When you enabled Access Control, you created an account with Administrator privileges to the Q-SYS Core. However, you can create additional user accounts and assign permission levels as you require.

Tip: Before adding a new user, you may want to create a custom user role first. Refer to the Access Management > Roles topic to learn how.

  1. Click + New User.

  2. Type a Username. Usernames must not contain spaces.

  3. Select a User Role. These three roles are standard—Administrator, Technicians, and Viewers, but any custom Access Management > Roles you have created are also assignable.

    Note: Administrators and Technicians can enable user access for the External Control Protocol and File Management Protocol. These permissions are set in Q-SYS Administrator using separate user PINs specifically for these purposes.

  4. Enter a Password for the account. Passwords must be at least 8 characters in length.

  5. Click Create.

Role Permissions

The following tables summarize the permissions for each built-in role.

Core Manager Permissions

Capability

Administrator

Technician

Viewer

View all Core settings and features

✓ ✓ ✓

Modify Core settings

✓ ✓ x

Deploy design files

✓ ✓ x

Update Core firmware

✓ ✓ x

Enable / Disable Access Control

✓ x x

Create, edit, or remove users

✓ ✓ x

View existing users

✓ ✓ x

Create or revoke access tokens

✓ x x

View existing access tokens

✓ ✓ ✓

Launch PIN-protected UCIs (without PIN)

✓ ✓ x

Launch PIN-protected UCIs (with PIN)

✓ ✓ ✓

Preview audio files (Files page)

✓ ✓ x

Download system information (Utilities page)

✓ ✓ x

Enable External Control Protocol access (Set via Q-SYS Administrator using separate user PINs.)

✓ ✓ x

Enable File Management access (Set via Q-SYS Administrator using separate user PINs.)

✓ ✓ x

Q-SYS Designer Permissions

Capability

Administrator

Technician

Viewer

Connect to Core via Designer

✓ ✓ ✓

Load Design from Core (Load, File, & Connect)

✓ ✓ x

Operate runtime controls

✓ ✓ ✓

Save / Deploy Design to Core

✓ ✓ x

Note: When Access Control is enabled, users must sign in with their credentials when connecting to a Core from within Q-SYS Designer. Designer securely retains your authenticated session across disconnections and reconnections, eliminating repeated login prompts. The Viewer role permits connecting to a Core and operating runtime controls, but does not allow loading, saving, or deploying designs via Q-SYS Designer, Q-SYS Reflect, or direct API calls.

Managing Users

Only users with the Administrator role can manage existing users. From the Actions column:

Note: Administrators can also update their own username and password. Click your username in the top-right corner, and then select Manage Account.

Disabling Access Control

Disabling Access Control deletes all security settings, including the Administrator account, and returns the Q-SYS Core to non-protected mode.

CAUTION: When you disable Access Control, all user accounts are deleted, the Access Tokens page is hidden, and a sign-in is no longer required to gain access to Q-SYS Core Manager or QRWC. This is not recommended for security reasons. Before disabling Access Control, revoke all active access tokens.

  1. Click Disable Access Control.
  2. Click Disable to confirm.